B’ville residents approve school budget, elect four new board members

Baldwinsville Central School District voters on May 20 approved the $96,887,219 school budget for the 2014-15 school year. The tax levy increase is 2.87 percent, or $1,448,458, which is an increase of approximately $67.13 for a $100,000 assessed property value. The tax levy increase of 2.87 percent is the district’s tax levy cap for 2014-2015.

Aside from the budget, voters also approved three additional propositions:

Proposition 2 was for an annual bus purchase of $999,939. The bus purchase allows the district to continue its annual bus purchase and replacement program. The current bus fleet consists of 79 large buses, 27 medium and eight 8-passenger buses. In order to maintain a consistent replacement schedule, approximately 11 to 14 buses should be replaced per year. Due to economic pressure facing the district, the district opted to propose the purchase of fewer buses. The district plans to purchase one Suburban, five 65-passenger buses, one 30-passenger bus and two 30-passenger wheelchair buses.

Proposition 3 was for a capital project with an estimated cost of $347,630, with no cost to taxpayers. By passing, the project allows the district to replace the failed air conditioning chiller at Ray Middle School

The public also approved proposition 4 to create a capital reserve to fund future building projects. The capital reserve established in 2007 will be depleted by proposition 3. A capital reserve reduces the cost of capital projects to taxpayers by paying the local share. The district will need voter permission to spend any funds from the reserve.

Additionally, the board of education now has four new members. Out of six candidates, residents elected newcomers Matt Yager and Kim McIlroy and re-elected incumbents Jeff Marier and Cheryl Cowen.

The numbers below represent a breakdown of the results:

Budget proposition – 1,024 Yes votes; 334 No votes

Bus purchase proposition – 1,032 Yes votes; 346 No votes

Capital project proposition – 1,086 Yes votes; 311 No votes

New capital reserve proposition – 1,065 Yes votes; 317 No votes

Three candidates were elected to three-year terms on the Board of Education:

Cheryl Cowen: 664

Jeffrey Marier: 850

Kimberly McIlroy: 879

Matthew Yager: 895

Christopher Patrick: 661

Natalie Zaccaria: 544

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment