Liverpool boys gets close to league track title

Vanmarter wins three events; Warriors one point back of F-M

— A single point kept the Liverpool boys track and field team from winning last Thursday’s CNY Counties League National division championship on its home track.

With a total of 147 points, the Warriors finished just behind Fayetteville-Manlius, who seized the top spot with 148 points. Cicero-North Syracuse had a strong showing, too, getting to third place with a total of 126 points.

And all of this happened despite Mark Vanmarter cleaning up in field events. Vanmarter cleared 6 feet 2 inches to win the high jump, half a foot ahead of the field, including C-NS’s Nick Antonello, who was third (5’8”) as teammate Joe Antonello was third and Liverpool’s Nate Guarente sixth.

Moving to the long jump, Vanmarter fought the winds and went 21 feet ½ inch, beating C-NS’s Morgan Austen, who was second with 19’10”, as well as the Warriors’ Donald Frost in fourth place (18’1”) and the Northstars’ George Reader (17’11”) in fifth place.

Finally, Vanmarter conquered the triple jump, unleashing a top attempt of 42’2 ¾” which was a foot and a half better than F-M’s Kyle Barber (40’7”).

Twice in relays, Liverpool finished second to F-M, a four-point difference. Alex Christensen, Collin Gwilt, Dan Muldoon and Zach Munski posted 3:30.99 in the 4x400, but the Hornets won in 3:29.71.

In the 4x800, Muldoon, Nick LeClair, Dylan McCarthy and Ben Petrella had a time of 8:32.84, but F-M pulled away to win in 4:12 flat. Vanmarter, Brandon Mayfield, Peter Gonzalez and James Williams went 46.30 seconds in the 4x100 relay, again in second, but Baldwinsville (45.84 seconds) won that race. C-NS got to third place in the 4x800 in 8:40.05 and was fourth (3:38.13) in the 4x400.

LeClair did win in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in a time of 10:17.41, with McCarthy fourth (10:32.27) and the Northstars’ Chris Hannan fifth. Muldoon needed 2:01.82 to get second place to F-M’s Andrew Berge’ (2:00.96) in the 800-meter run, where Alex Christensen was third in 2:02.11 and C-NS’s Bryan Bausinger was sixth.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment