F-M boys tennis extends wins streak to 236

CBA takes first loss of season to Westhill

Now the regular season is done, and the area’s boys tennis teams could all look forward to this week’s action in the Section III team and individual tournaments.

Fayetteville-Manlius wrapped up its 25th straight undefeated league campaign and extended its win streak to 236 consecutive matches by going 4-0 for the week, starting last Monday when it shut out Liverpool 7-0.

In singles, Josh Druger and Riley Ma each won 6-0, 6-0 matches over, respectively, Ian Szczesniak and Evan Vogue, with Taran Judge taking out Leon Truong 6-1, 6-0.

The closest of the four doubles matches saw Ravi Dhawan and Vince Grasso get past Mike Fensken and Matt Beshara 6-1, 7-5. Justin DeSorbo and Vince Sorrentino blanked Chris Dotto and Logan Enzerillo 6-0, 6-0, with the teams of Dan Miron-Nick Westergaard and Mike Mintskovsky-Brooks Nagle also prevailing in two sets.

F-M went from there to another 7-0 shutout, this one over Baldwinsville, on Tuesday afternoon. Thomas Wong returned to singles, beating Nick Jerome 6-3, 6-3, with Ma and Druger also winning in two sets. DeSorbo and Sorrentino played the closest doubles match, but earned a 6-0, 8-6 decision over Mike Schneid and Mason Soeder.

The string of match wins continued Wednesday with another win over Liverpool, this one by a 6-1 margin. Though Ryan Jones lost in singles to Ian Szczesniak 6-0, 6-2, Druger put away Evan Maestri 6-1, 6-1, and Chris Lansing got a singles turn, defeating Aaron Laviolette 6-3, 6-2.

In the doubles sweep of the Warriors, the Hornets’ teams of Westergaard-Miron, Mintskovsky-Nagle and DeSorbo-Sorrentino all won 6-0, 6-0 matches. Dhawan and Grosso dropped a couple of games, but still roared past Kevin Hiemenz and Jayesh Patil 6-1, 6-1.

To conclude the regular season, F-M swept Auburn 7-0 on Thursday afternoon. Druger won in singles over Tom Alexander 6-2, 6-1, with Ma handling Kevin Franceschelli 6-0, 6-2 and Wong also winning in two sets. The doubles teams of Westergaard-Miron, Mintskovsky-Nagle and Jones-Kai Wang also won with ease.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment