Stirpe to host second annual Women of Distinction Awards

— In honor of Women’s History Month, Assemblyman Al Stirpe (D-Cicero) is seeking nominations for outstanding women from the towns of Cicero, Clay Fabius, Manlius, Pompey and Tully that make up the 127th Assembly District to be named 2014 Women of Distinction. Awardees will be recognized at the second annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony on Saturday, March 22.

“The exceptional achievements and personal excellence, as well as the outstanding, courageous or heroic actions of women in our community, should be recognized,” Stirpe said. “The Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony gives us a platform to thank these women who have enriched the community.”

Last year, four women were recognized for their contributions to education, civics, health care and volunteerism. Eighth-grade science teacher Hope Pelton, Meals on Wheels volunteer Georgia Sokolowski, State Trooper Sobrina Vazquez and Dr. Ruth Weinstock were named 2013 Women of Distinction.

Stirpe is also holding his second annual Women of Distinction essay writing contest. The contest is open to all students in Clay, Cicero, Manlius, Pompey, Fabius and Tully. Winners will be recognized at the Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony. Samantha Fleming and Chris Wintermute were 2013 essay contest winners.

Essays should be no longer than 500 words and should feature a woman who has made a positive impact on society. Students can email their essays to stirpea@assembly.state.ny.us or send them to 7293 Buckley Road, Suite 201, North Syracuse, NY 13212.

The awards ceremony will be held at 1 p.m. March 22 at the Fayetteville Village Offices at 425 E. Genesee St. in Fayetteville. Essays and nominations must be received by March 15. The nomination form and instructions can be found online at tinyurl.com/nominate127AD.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment