Four to vie for two Skaneateles school board seats

When the April 21 deadline passed four residents of the Skaneateles Central School District had submitted petitions to run for the Board of Education.

Incumbents Geralyn Huba and Kathryn Carlson will both seek re-election and will be challenged by Julie Abbott-Kenan and R. Curtis Coville on May 20.

Carlson has been on the board for the past four years, spending the last year as board president. Huba was elected last May, but for only a one-year term as she finished the original four-year term of Valerie Jerabeck.

Abbott-Kenan and Coville are both newcomers.

The May 20 vote will include the school board election, annual budget referendum, a referendum for purchase of two school buses and a referendum for a facilities capital project. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. in Waterman Primary School.

More detailed profiles of the candidates will be printed in a future edition of the Skaneateles Press.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment