Cazenovia town election candidates set, no contested races

— Cazenovia Democrats held their nominating caucus for the November elections last week and chose Councilor Bill Zupan to run for town supervisor and Councilor Kristi Andersen to run for reelection to her current board seat.

Democrats did not nominate candidates to run for the second town board seat up for election this year, which is currently held by Republican Pat Race, town clerk or town justice.

With the Democratic caucus completed, all party candidates for the Nov. 5 town election have been chosen, and the entire slate of positions to be elected will be uncontested.

Town Republicans, who select their candidates through petitions, submitted their choices to the county board of elections in late June. Councilor Pat Race was nominated to run for reelection to his current seat; Town Justice Fred G. Palmer III was nominated for reelection; and Deputy Town Clerk Connie Sunderman was nominated to run for town clerk. The town clerk position is open this year due to the announced retirement of current Town Clerk Linda Mather.

The Republicans did not choose candidates to challenge Andersen for her seat or to run for the town supervisor position, which is an open election due to the retirement of current Supervisor Ralph Monforte.

No petitions for independent candidates running for Cazenovia town offices were submitted to the county board of elections.

With the race for town supervisor uncontested, once current Councilor Bill Zupan is officially elected to the job and sworn in next year his board seat will be vacant. Under town law the board will choose a replacement to fill the remainder of Zupan’s term.

Jason Emerson is editor of the Cazenovia Republican. He can be reached at editor@cazenoviarepublian.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment