J-E, Marcellus runners find modest gains

Eagles compete at Jamesville Beach; Garn second at VVS meet

With the OHSL Liberty division schedule about to commence, cross country teams from Jordan-Elbridge and Marcellus went to separate meets on Saturday.

The Eagles were part of Varsity Race 2 at the Chittenango Invitational at Jamesville Beach Park, where it was fourth in the girls event with 145 points, Liverpool (32 points) easily prevailing.

Abby Gugel still managed to hang with all of the large-school standouts, finishing seventh in 20 minutes, 31.8 seconds as Ithaca’s Lauren Trumble won in a time of 19:21.1.

Miranda Malvaso (23:01.0) and Antonia Malvaso (23:02.3) were 33rd and 34th, respectively, while Marissa Malvaso (23:19.9) was 37th and Emily Kuenhle (23:52.2) also cracked the top 50.

In the boys Varsity Race 2, J-E did quite well, finishing fifth in a 17-team field with 163 points, with Rochester McQuaid (58 points) taking team honors.

Jack Gugel made his way to ninth place, in a clocking of 17:15.6. Nathan Hollis finished 22nd, in 17:56.6, while Nick Parkolap was 29th in 18:07.7. Dylan Whittico was 58th (18:51.4), with Jacob Patterson (19:03.7) taking 71st place.

Well to the east, Marcellus saw its girls cross country team finish third in the Vernon-Verona-Sherrill Invitational with 76 points, watching as Tully (48 points) edged ESM (49 points) for the team title.

Rachel Garn was tops among point-earning runners in this event, but second among individuals, her time of 19:47.5 topping everyone except Hamilton star Sage Hurta, who tore around the VVS course in 19:26.2 to get that title.

Elsewhere for the Mustangs, Eliza Bell finished 13th, in 21:52.8. Schuyler Stuart got to 22nd place in 22:58.8, edging out Dominique Weeks in 24th (23:04.1) and Emily Townsend (23:29.6) in 26th place. Tori Stopen, in 34th place (24:13.5), rounded out the scoring column.

The Mustangs’ Patrick McGuane was sixth in the boys race in 17:55.2 as, team-wise, Marcellus again took third place, with 74 points, Central Square (33 points) and ESM (39 points) setting the pace and ESM’s Jesse Perrone taking the individual race in 17:14.3.

Alex Stopen finished 13th, in 18:52.1, just ahead of Alex Zamojski (18:55.4) in 14th place. Steve Larison finished 20th, in 19:30.1, with Kevin Pierce 21st (19:37.7). Matt Strempel (20:03.9) and Andrew Marsh (20:16.7) had the next-best times.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment