Cross country Northstars sweep Central Square meet

Greenseich works his way to boys individual title

Not having to travel too far, the Cicero-North Syracuse cross country teams started their 2013 seasons with twin triumphs at last Saturday’s Central Square Invitational.

Colin Greenseich set the pace for the boys Northstars as, with 28 points, they easily put away a field of eight challengers that included the host Red Hawks, who finished second with 50 points.

Although Fayetteville-Manlius and Liverpool are considered the local Class A sectional favorites, C-NS has a strong team as well, and its depth was on display at Central Square.

Greenseich maintained his pace throughout the 3.1 miles and crossed the finish line in 17 minutes, 25 seconds, five seconds better than Central Square’s Ian Spera.

Just behind Spera, two more C-NS runners, Andrew Bearkland and Chris Hannan grabbed the third and fourth spots, each of them finishing in 17:31. Paul DeGennaro was ninth, in 17:57.

In all, seven Northstars finished within the top 20. Eric Bowen finished 11th, in 18:27, with Jared George taking 12th place in 18:33 and Evan Russell was 20th in a clocking of 19:16.

As if that wasn’t enough, C-NS swept the top six spots in the JV boys race as Brian Traub prevailed, in 18:45, with Joe Tricarico, Andrew Salmons, Owen Ukleya, Jake Dehm and Evan Tracy behind him. Seth Steele and Jeff Eymer also finished in the top 10.

Meanwhile, in the girls Central Square meet, C-NS used its depth to win that title with 32 points, with Marcellus (58 points) in second place even though the Mustangs’ Rachel Garn won the individual race in 19:36.

Leading the Northstars’ push, Jacqlynn Halstead finished fourth in a time of 20:24. Jillian Norris finished fifth, in 21:13, while Amanda Shuman was sixth (21:34) and Taylor Parry was seventh in 21:50. Savannah Stevens was 10th (22:14) and Lauren Carr (22:23) gained 11th place.

In the JV race, C-NS claimed each of the top nine positions, with Madison Kolakowski leading the charge as she crossed the finish line in 19:59. Ashley Irvine, Molly Camire, Madison Gross, Tore Pirro, Melanie Bigel, Sarah Shannon, Sarah Wicks and Lexi Pirro followed.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment