Chamber of commerce elects new officers, celebrates local business at annual dinner

— “There’s a reason why we should buy that morning coffee locally here,” Monforte said. “Everybody can have something to say about their taxes — all they have to do is buy local.”

Monforte said the county has posted road signs, created a website and Facebook page and is seeking to partner with county businesses to get the word out about the program and help fund the marketing for the program. He also mentioned the new “Buy Madison” debit card being offered by Oneida Savings Bank — every time a cardholder uses the card for a purchase, Oneida Savings Bank gives a portion of the fees collected back to the buy local campaign.

Monforte said local businesses who want to participate in the buy local program can put their profile information on the website’s local business directory, and many are offering incentives to customers who purchase items using the Oneida Savings buy local card.

“There are 70,000 people in Madison County, so that’s thousands of cardholders” that could potentially be introduced to participating businesses, he said.

The new GCACC officers for the 2014 year also were announced at the meeting. Jessica Amidon, of Caz Cans, will be the chair of the board; John Hunter, of JD Hunter Fine Furnishing, will be vice chair; Karen Reynolds, of Realty USA, will be secretary; Fred Agerter, of AmeriCU, will be treasurer; and Anna Marie Neuland will continue as executive director.

Also at the meeting, it was announced that Steve Burrell of CRIS CAT and Hume Laidman of SCORE were retiring from the GCACC Board of Directors, and Mike Nichiporuk of State Farm and McKenzie Houseman of Cazenovia Cut Block were nominated and approved as new board members.

The board members with unexpired terms were announced as: Gene Gissin, of Gene Gissin Photography; Robert Slodowitz, of ARTicles; Barbara Bartlett, of Lorenzo; Bob Cowherd, of Cazenovia Auto Sales; Karen Eldridge, of Isabella; Pam Ellis; Pam McFarland, of Cherry Valley Physical Therapy; Shannon Richard, of Morrisville College; Bill Tilison, of Dave's Diner; Art Bigsby, of Fallon, Fallon & Bigsby; Robert Dubik, of Cazenovia Central Schools; Wayne Westervelt, of Cazenovia College and Pringle Symonds, of CPF.

Jason Emerson is editor of the Cazenovia Republican. He can be reached at editor@cazenoviarepublican.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment