Results hold in Skaneateles town races

Sennett, Brace, Robinson Howard earn town offices

Full election results

Below are the unofficial final totals for the elected offices in Skaneateles. All numbers courtesy of the Onondaga County Board of Elections.


Mary Sennett (Skaneateles Party, Democrat): 1,308

Jim Greenfield (Republican, Independence): 1,241

Write-in: 0

Town councilor

Connie Brace (Skaneateles Party, Democrat): 1,343

Claire Robinson Howard (Skaneateles Party, Democrat): 1,310

Steve McGlynn (Republican, Independence): 1,211

Rick Keyes (Republican, Independence): 1,136

Write-in: 6

Tax collector

Lori Milne (Republican, Independence): 2,188

Write-in: 9

Town clerk

Janet Aaron (Republican, Independence): 2,090

Write-in: 11

Highway superintendent

Allan Wellington (Republican, Independence): 2,118

Write-in: 11

After the Onondaga County Board of Elections counted 144 absentee and affidavit ballots last week, the winners of the Skaneateles races for town supervisor and town councilor did not change.

The results of the election will officially be confirmed by the board no later than Nov. 30.

As expected the three Skaneateles Party candidates have won the contested elections for town offices. Mary Sennett will be the town’s next supervisor and joining her in January will be Connie Brace and Claire Robinson Howard as town councilors.

The three women, earned a sweep of three incumbent Republican candidates – Jim Greenfield for supervisor and Rick Keyes and Steve McGlynn for town councilor. The Republicans did not make up any ground in the races when the additional votes were added in (for numbers see page 3).

The winners ran under both the unaffiliated Skaneateles Party line as well as with the local Democrat Party endorsement.

Though the winners had substantial leads following the initial results reported on Election Day, the Republicans remained mathematically alive in the races due to the high number of absentee ballots sent out to Skaneateles voters.

The current town board will meet three more times this year with its current makeup which includes Keyes, McGlynn and supervisor Terri Roney. The newly elected officials will begin their terms on Jan. 2, 2014, when the town board will meet.

For Sennett, being elected to the town government will mean she will resign her current post as a village trustee. Elected to a four-year term in March of this year, her vacancy may be filled by an appointment to be made by Mayor Marty Hubbard under the advisement of the board of trustees.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment