Local track stars shine at Saturday meets

Lawes, Akinpelu both win for Liverpool at Loucks Games

Morgan Mahoney made her way to fifth place (7:23.13) in a 2,000-meter steeplechase won by West Genesee’s Laura Leff in 6:52.56, while also finishing 10th in the 3,000-meter run (11:18.72), edging out teammate Abby McNamara in 11th as McNamara added a 12th-place finish in the mile. Juliana Basla and Jillian Stagnitta were 11th and 12th, respectively, in the steeplechase.

Tammy Brodie earned 2,471 points for eighth place in the pentathlon, with Angela Kulpa, the new school-record holder in the pole vault with 10’1”, clearing 9’6” this time to finish 11th. Gersbacher was 12th in the triple jump as Basla, in 2:22 flat, was 12th in the 800.

Far away from this, C-NS’s boys team managed a second-place finish in the South Jefferson Boys Invitational, with 108 points, behind only New Hartford’s winning total of 128 points.

Joe Castaldo swept the throwing events, taking both the shot put (42’ ½”) and discus, the latter with a throw of 133’1”. Connor Osborne cleared 11 feet in the pole vault, second to South Jefferson’s Matt Mundt (11’6”), while Trayvon Wynn was third in the triple jump (35’5 ½”). Marcus Banister got third in the high jump (5’6”), with George Reader fifth.

In the mile, Anthony Lupia finished second, in 4:38.02, while Neil Gill got fourth place and Bryan Bausinger had fifth place. Gill, Lupia, Bausinger and Paul DeGennaro ended up second in the 4x800 relay in 8:51.63 to New Hartford’s 8:49.91.

Evan Russell, in the 400 hurdles, got second place in 1:01.50, just behind Oswego’s Ben Harrington (1:01.39). Colin Greenseich and Andrew Bearkland were fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 3,200. Jalen Jenkins got second (11.76 seconds) to APW’s Joe Carusone (11.68) in the 100 final, while Steve Mirizio was fourth in 11.86 seconds.

The Northstars were also second in the distance medley relay (11:36.70) and fourth in the 1,600 sprint medley, also events where New Hartford finished first, and third in the 4x100 relay in 47.17 seconds, where Indian River (46.64 seconds) won.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment