Whorrall Wins

Citizens’ Party sweeps Manlius election, Tackman is East Syracuse mayor and Hughes wins Fayetteville justice race

Paul Whorrall, was elected mayor of Manlius on Tuesday night, defeating Mark- Paul Serafin.

Paul Whorrall, was elected mayor of Manlius on Tuesday night, defeating Mark- Paul Serafin. Allie Wenner

— And in the Manlius village justice race, Bill Barrett ousted Natalie Miner 784 votes to 244 votes. All of the newly elected officials will take office on April 1.


Jim Hughes squeaked by Chris Danaher Tuesday night to win the Fayetteville justice race with a total of 276 votes. Danaher received 262 votes and Kristin Palazzoli got 46. Hughes said he learned a lot about both himself and his community during the campaign process and that it was overall a positive experience.

“I was very pleased with the energy that all three candidates contributed to their respective campaigns and the positive spirit in which each of the campaigns were conducted,” Hughes said. “I’m flattered by the overall turnout and I’m very pleased by the outcome.”

East Syracuse

Robert Tackman, of the People’s Party, beat out Lorene Dadey, of the Friends Party, by just ten votes to become the next mayor of East Syracuse. Tackman finished with 212 votes and Dadey received 202.

Tackman is wasting no time when it comes to his new duties as mayor. He said that on the morning after the election, his first stop was to the village offices to start the process of compiling a budget.

"There's not much time to sit back and take a breath- we have quite a financial crisis on our hands in the village," Tackman said. "I've already been to the village office to request copies of all of the budget requests from all of the directors so we can start putting some numbers together and getting our budgets ready."

The trustee election was an even closer race. Out of the five candidates vying for two spots, people’s party candidate Daniel Wagner won the overall trustee election with 192 votes and Carol Para, the sole Friends Party winner, will also begin her term as a trustee on April 1 after receiving 161 votes.

Friends Party candidate Kim O’Brien finished right behind Para with 159 votes and Liz Landry of the People’s party was close behind both with 151 votes. Conservative party candidate Bernie Ment wasn’t too far back either with 130 votes.

Donald Benack Jr. was elected East Syracuse village justice with a total of 282 votes.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment