J-D indoor track girls win Class A sectional title

Boys Red Rams finish second to Westhill/Ludden

— It was the same in the 55 hurdles, only this time Franklin (8.51) got edged out by Nate Sturgeon, who in 8.50 seconds won by a hundredth of a second. Sturgeon also was sixth in the long jump.

Liebmann teamed with Austin Phileo, Jaysen Ramos and Will Cote to get second place (3:45.77) to Westhill/Ludden (3:40.37) in the 4x400. Will Hohreiter, Samuel Dye, Isaac Tupper and Tom Iandolo were third in the 4x800 in 9:21.27.

Individually, Hohreiter was third in the mile in 4:39.2, while Dye took third (2:49.42) in the 1,000 and Cote was fourth (38’3 ¼”) in the triple jump. Davis Elmore got fourth in the shot put with a throw of 41’6 ½”, edging Brian Roth (41’1 ½”) in fifth, while Jack Healy was sixth in the 3,200-meter run.

ESM saw Jesse Perrone rise to second place in the 1,000 in 2:47.52, just trailing Mexico’s James Gowans (2:46.34). Joe Coogan was third (1:31.59) and Jake Barker sixth in the 600, with the Rams’ Phileo in fifth.

Tom Grayer, sixth in the 55 sprint, combined with Barker, Coogan and Glen Maldonado to get third place in the 4x200 in a time of 1:43.41.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment