F-M’s Quinlan, CBA/J-D wrestlers star at AA meet

Nine wrestlers from local teams win sectional class titles

F-M also saw Tristan Broddus (145) beat Darren Breen (Liverpool) 19-4 for third place at 152 pounds, while Jon Hajduk (189) edged WG’s Dalton Elias to get third place at 182. Luke Rufo, at 126 pounds, rose to fourth place, matching Mark King (170) in that placement.

Will Khalil (99 pounds) finished fifth for the Hornets, while Tim Byrnes was fifth at 160 pounds and Chris Bortel placed fifth at 195.

As this was going on, East Sryacuse-Minoa picked up 122 points for fifth place in a nine-team field in the sectional Class A tournament, where host Fulton, with 221.5 points, finished on top.

Kyle Parrella was victorious at 145, pinning Indian River’s Dylan Crowder 30 seconds into the third period of the title match. At 152, Steve Loder claimed first place when he squeaked past Fulton’s Mike DeMauro 2-1 in the championship match.

Alex Moss was second at 182 pounds, dropping his final to Carthage star Shayne Brady 10-1, whiel Alex Seamans (160) beat Fulton’s Sam Rios 6-4 to finish third. Jon Fannetti (106) was fourth, as was Sam LeGro (138) and Eric Spero (170), while Jeff Loder (120) got sixth place.

Most of these wrestlers qualified to compete in this Saturday’s Section III Division I (large school) tournament, which starts at 10 a.m. at Onondaga Community College’s SRC Arena.

CBA/JD had hosted C-NS last Wednesday night in a non-league meet, unable to overcome an early deficit in a 40-34 loss to the Northstars.

C-NS claimed each of the first four matches through three pins and a forfeit, going ahead 24-0 before CBA/J-D could get on the board with back-to-back forfeits to Bagiryan and Dustin Harris (126).

But the Northstars regained control by winning the next three matches, including close decisions where Lauro (fell to Joe Copani 5-1 and Mosab Ahmad (138) had a 10-8 defeat to Jeremy Rivera.

Romagnoli began a belated push, just missing the technical fall in a 19-6 romp over Nate Langstaff. Friske handled Jake Claflin 12-4 and Wynn beat David Griglock 6-4, with Honis pinning Robert Craner in 58 seconds and Shapiro taking 3:25 to pin Jared West.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment