Quantcast

Open Afternoon Book Club meets at the Cazenovia Public Library

— Kick off the new year by joining the “Open Afternoon Book Club” for adults at the Cazenovia Public Library. This group meets at 1 p.m. every third Wednesday in the Story Garden.

The Jan. 15 selection is “The Kitchen House,” Kathleen Grissom’s debut novel. A New York Times bestseller and word-of-mouth phenomenon, this novel is perfect for fans of “The Help” and “The Postmistress.”

“The Kitchen House” tells the story of seven-year-old Irish orphan Lavinia, who is transported to Virginia in 1791 to work in the kitchen of a wealthy plantation owner. Placed under the care of Belle, the master’s illegitimate daughter, Lavinia is quickly absorbed into the life of the kitchen house and becomes part of the family of black slaves whose fates are tied to the plantation.

But Lavinia’s skin will always set her apart, whether she wishes it or not. And as she grows older, she will be torn between the life that awaits her as a white woman and the people she knows as kin.

Future selections for the “Open Afternoon Book Club” are: “The Light Between Oceans” by M.L. Stedman, “Defending Jacob” by William Landry, “Girls of Atomic City” by Denise Kiernan, “The Art Forger” by B.A. Shapiro and “The Signature of All Things” by Elizabeth Gilbert.

The “Open Afternoon Book Club” is free and open to the public. Books are available at the circulation desk and all are welcome.

For more information about this club or other events at the Cazenovia Public Library, call 655-9322 or visit cazenoviapubliclibrary.org.

0
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment