Beezie Madden nominated for Equestrian of the Year

Madden’s horse “Simon” also nominated for Horse of the Year

Beezie Madden, of Cazenovia, is among eight equestrian finalists competing for the honorable title of 2013 Equestrian of the Year through the United States Equestrian Federation, the sport’s governing organization. All eight contestants have recently received trophies for their equestrian skills.

For the third time in her life, the William C. Steinkraus trophy has been awarded to Madden for her riding skills. Other awards she has received this year include winning the FEI W-Cup Grand Prix CS13, the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup with the U.S. team, a second-place win at the CS104 Grand Prix, the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup, the Longines Global Champion Tours Grand Prix of Chantilly, the Consolation Round of the Furusiyya FEI Nationals Cup in Barcelona with the U.S. team and the Rolex/FEI World Cup Final crown.

To vote for Beezie, go online to usef.org/_IFrames/eoty/Default.aspx, enter your email address and scroll to the bottom of the page to vote. Voting will run through midnight Dec. 30.

The USEF Equestrian of the Year will be announced on Friday, Jan. 10, during the 2014 USEF Pegasus Awards Gala.

Another finalist in the sport is Madden’s horse Simon, running for a similar title in the 2013 USEF’s Horse of the Year vote. He is also nominated for one of the five 2013 KWPN Horse of the Year awards. The six horses contending for the USEF Horse of the Year award are among the very finest in the sport.

Voting for the USEF Horse of the Year will run through midnight Dec. 30 at usef.org/_IFrames/hoty/Default.aspx. The USEF Horses of the Year will be named on Jan. 11 during the 2014 USEF annual meeting as part of the 2013 USEF year end awards gala.

To vote for your favorite KWPN Horse of the Year nominee, go online to kwpn.org/kwpn-horse-year. The winner will be revealed at the 2014 KWPN stallion show powered by Massey Ferguson. Voting concludes on Jan. 6.

Votes cast by the public count for two of five votes, and votes cast by the Horse of the Year Committee count for the remaining three votes.

Let your voice be heard and vote for your favorite nominee!

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment