New Spafford officers to be sworn in on Jan. 1

The newly elected town officials in Spafford will hold a ceremony to be sworn in to office and a brief meeting on Jan. 1.

Supervisor-elect Mary Bean, and town councilors-elect Dave Venezia and Chris Fesko will take their oaths of office as administered by Town Justice Kate Jacques at 2 p.m. at Spafford town hall.

The new board will hold a short meeting followed by refreshments. The public is invited to attend to see the swearing in and get to meet their new officials, Bean said.

In a statement, Bean said she wants to encourage more people to attend the board meetings and talk to their elected officials:

“Members of the town board will be listening to citizens before and after every board meeting in the future and we hope this event sets the tone for this change in how town business will be conducted. The board will make every effort to encourage civility and decorum at board meetings in the hope that more citizens will attend meetings and engage in the dialogue needed to support good decision making.”

The new board first regularly scheduled meeting will be at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 9.

Joe Genco is the editor of the Skaneateles Press. He can be reached at editor@skaneatelespress.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment