Spafford to have contested town races

On election day this Nov. 5 the town of Spafford will have contested races for supervisor and two town board seats.

Democrat Mary Bean will challenge Republican incumbent Webb Stevens for town supervisor, a two-year term.

Democrat candidates for town board will be Chris Fesko (an incumbent) and Kathy Bragg-Adams. Bragg-Adams ran for the board in 2011 and was edged out by fellow Democrat Louis Hanlon by a mere four votes. Fesko was elected to a two-year term in a special election in 2011 to serve the remainder of husband Rick Fesko’s term, after he passed away.

Republican candidates will be Donald Plath and David Venezia. Current councilor Kenneth Liberman chose no to run for re-election this year.

Councilors Jeff Ireland (R) and Louis Hanlon (D) round out the board. They will both be up for re-election in 2015 as councilors serve four-year terms.

Highway superintendent Carl Weirs and town clerk Lisa Valletta will run for re-election unopposed. The Republicans also nominated Cindy Cook to run for tax collector, she will be unopposed.

For more information on elections and polling places visit the Onondaga County Board of Elections website.

Joe Genco is the editor of the Skaneateles Press. He can be reached at editor@skaneatlespress.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment