Skaneateles village makes committee appointments

The Skaneateles Village Board of Trustees held its annual organizational meeting on Monday, April 1.

At the meeting the board approved appointments and re-appointments for village officials and committee members.

Most notably, the village had to select five people to be appointed to the Historic Landmarks Preservation Commission. The HLPC had nine members previously, but after the passage of local law 1 of 2013, it is now only a five-person committee. Members of the HLPC only serve one-year terms, so all the previous members’ terms were up.

The village appointed Lisa Riordan, Katherine Dyson, Ted Kinder, Chad Rogers and Dave Birchenough to sit on the HLPC for the next year. Dyson and Kinder were re-appointed as they served on the most recent incarnation of the commission. Rodgers has sat on the commission in the past and Riordan and Birchenough are newcomers.

Mayor Marty Hubbard said that the village interviewed qualified candidates for the open positions and made their decisions based on who would best serve the community.

The village board also announced that it will be holding a public hearing regarding the village agenda at its meeting on April 25.

Other appointments

--Bill Eberhardt was re-appointed to the planning board for a five year term running through 2018.

--Carol Stokes-Cawley was appointed to the planning board to fill a vacancy left by Megan Keady, who resigned due to time-conflicts. Stokes-Cawley will serve the remainder of Keady’s term, which runs through 2016.

--Dana Hall was re-appointed to the municipal board for a three-year term, running through 2016.

--Steve Hartnett was re-appointed to the zoning board of appeals for a five-year term running, through 2018.

--Robert Gray was re-appointed to the cemetery board for a three-year terms running through 2016.

--Frank Sheehan was re-appointed to the housing authority for a five-year term running through 2018.

--Patty Couch was re-appointed as village clerk/treasurer for a four-year term, running through 2017.

Joe Genco is the editor of the Skaneateles Press. He can be reached at editor@skaneatelespress.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment