Westhill/Ludden runners sweep Marcellus

Manahan earns another victory at B'ville Invitational

Taking a large step toward claiming top honors in the OHSL Liberty division, the combined Westhill/Bishop Ludden cross country teams both earned victories over Marcellus in last Wednesday afternoon’s neighborhood battle.

In the boys race where the Warriors prevailed 24-37, The Mustangs’ Ryan Manahan earned the victory in 18 minutes, 3.6 seconds, and teammate Justin Garn was third in 18:16.3.

However, Westhill/Ludden countered with Casey Bunce earning second place in 18:10.1, and swept the five spots behind Garn to move out in front for good. Liam Rodgers took fourth, in 18:36.9, with Peter Lynch fifth in 18:54.3 and Kyle Fitch sixth in 18:56.7.

Dan DeMauro was seventh in 19:09.9 to round out the scoring column, edging out Alec Walsh (19:01.7) in eighth place. Marcellus teammates Mike Clark (19:17.1) and Alex Zamojski (19:36.4) followed.

It was the same in the girls meet, where Westhill/Ludden won 23-33 over Marcellus even though the Mustangs’ Rachel Garn pulled away for the individual title in 20:58.9. Five of the next six spots belonged to the Warriors, only broken up by Molly McGuane, who was fourth in 22:08.9.

Emily Washburn led Westhill/Ludden, finishing second in 21:27.9, with Annibel Coolican third in 21:50.6. Behind McGuane, Erin Morrell was fifth in 22:19.5, with Genny Corcoran (22:41.1) and Caroline Coates (22:51.5) getting sixth and seventh, respectively. Marcellus saw Schuyler Stuart finish eighth, in 23:34.5, and Eliza Bell (23:37.5) slide into ninth place.

Now they all went to Durgee Junior High School for Saturday’s 61st annual Baldwinsville Invitational, where Manahan had the fastest time of the meet, posting 15:21.4 to beat Southern Cayuga’s Michael May (15:37.6) by more than 16 seconds in the Small Schools division.

Marcellus finished fourth with 234 points and Jordan-Elbridge was sixth with 253 points in the boys team event. For the Mustangs, Justin Garn was 16th in 16:56.4, with Zamojski in 54th (17:51.8), ahead of McGuane (18:07.0) and Alex Stopen (18:49.3) among the point-earners.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment