F-M track sweeps to sectional Class AA titles

Hornets dominate girls, boys distance races to pile up points

— Ezidiegwu moved to the high jump and cleared 4'10" for fifth place. Savannah Pidkaminy rose to fifth in the discus with a heave of 85'9" and also took sixth in the pole vault, clearing 7'6".

Just 24 hours later, in the boys Class AA championship meet, F-M won again. By earning 99 points, the Hornets had enough to slide past Liverpool (89 points) and C-NS (81 points) to land in the top spot, and it did so without top sprinter Austin Perez, who sat out the meet due to injury.

Nick Ryan led the way. Ryan shattered his own personal mark in the mile, going to the lead early and pulling further away until he crossed the line in 4:09.61, more than 10 seconds ahead of Liverpool star Zavon Watkins. Bryce Millar was third (4:21.29) and Ben Thomas (4:28.75) was fourth.

Later, in the 3,200-meter run, Ryan led a top-four sweep, cruising to first place in 9:37.45, just ahead of Matt Deyo in second (9:42.21), while Millar (9:45.27) and Thomas (10:05.64) again claimed the third and fourth spots.

F-M also won a pair of relays as Ryan, teaming with Millar, Langston Lightcap and Connor Farrell, claimed the 4x800 in 8:08.02, beating Baldwinsville by 2.39 seconds, while in the 4x400 Lightcap, joined by Said Shakuri, Charlie Beeler and Aaron Blitz, again held off B’ville, 3:28.55 to 3:29.49.

Colin Fitzgibbons, in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, claimed third place in 10:15.02, where Riley Hughes was sixth. Kyle Harbour worked his way to third place in the pentathlon with 2,389 points.

Lightcap finished third in the 800 in 1:59.18, with Farrell fifth in 2:01.37. Lightcap also took fourth in the 400 sprint in 51.58 seconds, edging Beeler (51.60 seconds), who finished fifth. Zhengyue Zhu had a fifth-place triple jump of 41’2” and Kyle Barber was fifth (16.95 seconds) in the 110 hurdles.

F-M's runners can return to Bragman Stadium three more times, for the May 31 state qualifier and, for those that advance, the June 8-9 state championships.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment