Track Northstars rout Henninger, 128-13

Win locks up sixth CNYCL National title in seven years

— At the end of its busiest stretch of the season, the Cicero-North Syracuse boys track and field team ripped past Henninger 128-13 on Monday afternoon at Bragman Stadium to lock up the CNY Counties League National division regular-season title.

This marked the Northstars’ sixth league title in seven years, and it managed to find enough energy for this meet, even though it was the third outing in six days, counting the narrow May 9 decision over Liverpool and the win at Saturday's South Jefferson Invitational.

Frank Volino would run the 110 high hurdles in 15.2 seconds and add a title in the 400 hurdles in 58.8 seconds. Bryson Mayes also won twice, claiming the long jump by going 19 feet 5 inches and adding a top triple jump of 42’ 2 ½”.

Avery Yarn, with a top time of 22.8 seconds in the 200-meter dash, anchored a sprint sweep where Mark Broughton took the 100-meter dash (11.2 seconds) and Sam Nasser needed 52.6 seconds for first place in the 400-meter dash.

Up in distance events, Neil Gill won again, in the 3,200-meter run in 10:06.9, while Anthony Lupia covered the mile in 4:57.5 and Bryan Sibble claimed the 800-meter run in 2:13 flat.

Broughton, Nasser, Christian Oliver and Shawn Webb worked together as C-NS took the 4x400 relay in 3:46.0, this after Ryan, Nick Erwin, Paul DeGennaro and Evan Russell needed 10:41.5 to cover the 4x800 relay.

Cameron Shaughnessy again was victorious in the pole vault, clearing 12’6”, with Khalil Stevens soaring past 6’2” in the high jump. Donovan Kims had a first-place shot put toss of 45’3 ½” as Austin George won the discus, heaving it 128’7”.

The C-NS girls team would roll past Henninger 107-25 on Wednesday afternoon. Mariah Thomson threw the shot put 34’8” and tossed the discus 98’1”, while Katie Osborne unleashed a top long jump of 16’2 ½”.

Osborne joined Marissa Puma, Javielle Fanizzi and Nicole Watterud to win the 4x100 relay in 52.4 seconds. Waterrud also joined with Marissa Colburn, Katie Laris and Taylor Parry in the 4x400 (4:18.0) as Laris, Colburn, Shannon McCarthy and Jade Jenkins claimed the 4x800 in 10:53.0.

Jenkins, on her own, was first in the 400 hurdles in 1:08.4, while Maria LaMontagne took the 1,500-meter run in 5:23.0. Emily Dolan won the 3,000-meter run (11:03.0) as Shannon Bausinger tore through the 800 in 2:34.0. Christine Schug was first (1:05.0) in the 400 sprint.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment