Camillus Hall of Fame announces 2012 class

Group includes Navy grad Buzzell, 1990 hockey state champs

The West Genesee-Town of Camillus Hall of Fame committee has announced the class of 2012 that will be inducted in a late-October ceremony.

This years inductees include nine individuals – National Lacrosse Hall of Fame member Mike Buzzell, lacrosse referee Jim O’Hara, high school track star Erin Stewart Schofield, basketball record holder Kelly Knapp Townes, Bill Danforth, gymnast Bonnie Ellis-Scott, James Crocket, Jay Mason and Connie Mason.

Buzzell highlights the class, as he earned his National Lacrosse Hall of Fame selection following a career that included three All-American selections at the United States Naval Academy, from where he graduated in 1980. Buzzell went on to become a Navy fighter plot.

Also inducted will be West Genesee’s 1990 state champion high school hockey team, the school’s first hockey team to win a state championship (two more have followed).

Past inductees include, former pro base ball player Frank Dipino, Penn state grad and former NY Jet Jim Rosecrans, Lacrosse Hall of Fame Mike Messere, SU Coach John Desko, his long-time assistant Kevin Donahue, national ice dancing champion and Olympian Susie Wynne, to name a few.

The ceremony will be held Oct. 27 at Pensebene’s Casa Grande, 135 State Fair Blvd. There will be a cocktail hour with cash bar and hors d’oeurves beginning at 6 p.m., with the ceremony to follow at 7 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment