Saunders wins at Port Byron Invitational

Wrestling Lakers finish seventh in 14-team field

In its first event of 2012, the Skaneateles wrestling team ventured to the Port Byron Invitational on Saturday and finished seventh out of 14 teams with 70.5 points. North Rose-Wolcott took the top spot with 222.5 points.

Tyler Saunders earned the 126-pound championship. Saunders pinned Moravia’s Jon Lefever in 26 seconds and pinned North Rose-Wolcott’s Dolan Bielemeier in 1:42 to reach the finals, where he had to go all six minutes in an 8-4 decision over Port Byron’s Matt Dewitt.

Josh Brillo worked his way to third place at 113 pounds. Beaten in the semifinals by Hannibal’s Dennis Spaulding, he held off Lynwood’s David Manktelow 4-2 and, in the consolation bracket final, blanked Carter Biviano (Cazenovia) 7-0.

Russ Burkhardt, at 170 pounds, earned fourth place. Ryan Dick beat Ryan Norsen (Mynderse Academy) for fifth place at 132 pounds, while Jake Brillo was sixth at 160 pounds and Jacob Kipp was sixth at 195 pounds.

Skaneateles remains on the road this week for meets Wednesday at Hannibal and Friday at Cato-Meridian.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment