F-M inducts 23 members to new French Honor Society chapter

— Bonjour!

The Fayetteville-Manlius School District has established a new French Honor Society chapter and recently inducted 23 students into the local group.

“I wanted to start this honor society to honor students’ achievements in French and form a group of students who can help spread an appreciation of French throughout our community,” said F-M French teacher Sarah Woodward-Jones. “We can sponsor tutoring for high schoolers and middle schoolers as well as sponsor cultural events.”

F-M’s French teachers hope that students live by the French Honor Society’s motto of "Toujours mieux" – "Always better" – and constantly strive to improve their French and academic performance, according to Woodward-Jones.

To create the group, Woodward-Jones applied for a charter from the American Association of Teachers of French. She plans to involve students in selecting the local chapter’s name.

To be invited into the honor society, students must be a high school junior or senior and earn a minimum grade point average of 85 percent in all of their classes and 90 percent in French courses.

In order to remain chapter members, students must be enrolled in a French course, maintain the GPA requirements and participate/help organize cultural events throughout the year, such as the F-M Language Festival, French club events and movie nights sponsored by the F-M French Honor Society chapter.

"This is a wonderful new way to recognize excellence in French studies,” said F-M French teacher Denise Mahns. “Because students must be enrolled in French as juniors and seniors to be members, this honor truly represents proficiency in French and is the culmination of many years of study."

Establishing a local chapter of the French Honor Society ties into the district’s 21st Century Learner Attributes in that it will help students gain fluency in French, allowing them to fully communicate in a language other than English, according to Mrs. Woodward-Jones.

On Dec. 6, the following students were inducted into the F-M French Honor Society: Ryan Atkins, Sara Bernstein, Danielle Clark, Audrey Cleaver-Bartholomew, Olivia Cooney, Samantha Guillaume, Jennifer Hefti, Nicole Jarvi, Alison Jarvi, Benjamin Kelsey, Amin Khalifeh Soltani, Michael Liu, Jayde Martin, Madeline McCarthy, Laurel Moffat, Niharika Reddy, Rachel Scalzetti, Allysen Schreiber, Hannah Simonson, Jilin Song, Kathryn Szyjkowski, Ryan Van Slyke, Jeffrey Wan.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment