Cross country Bees split with Liverpool

Peinkofer, Miller win individual races for B'ville

— Baldwinsville’s cross country teams both encountered Liverpool, renewing their long-time rivalry Wednesday afternoon on the grounds of the B’ville school campus.

And it ended in a split, with the boys Bees prevailing 23-33, but the girls taking a 25-30 defeat to the Warriors.

These two teams had run on the same course, in the same race, four days earlier in the B’ville Invitational. Now, just as then, Alec Peinkofer earned an individual victory for the Bees in the boys race, crossing the line in 16 minutes, 3.14 seconds.

Andy Fleming followed, claiming second place in 16:08.68, while Josh Perez turned in a third-place time of 16:13.65 that helped B”ville withstand the fact that Liverpool claim six of the next seven spots. Only Matt Pond broke that trend, clinching the win by finishing sixth in 16:43.18.

In the closer girls race, the Bees again took individual honors when Rachael Miller crossed the line in a top time of 19 minutes, 27.49 seconds, with Annie Peterson close behind as she finished second in 19:30.24.

Liverpool turned it around, though, by having the next five runners across the line, led by Jessica Turner, who was third in 19:48.93. Not until Amanda McMahon took eighth place in 20:32.74 did the Bees recover, as Julia Johnson was ninth (20:36.55) and Kim Cushman was 10th in 20:36.24.

Both of B’ville’s teams were present Saturday at the Tully Invitational, where, on the girls side, the Bees were fourth among large schools with 145 points and ninth overall in a 22-team field.

Kirby Socker led B’ville with a 51st-place time of 22:43.2. Holly McMahon was 59th, in 23:04.6, two spots ahead of Meghan Hull (23:12.9) and four ahead of Claire McMahon (23:31.6) as Mary Joncas (23:56.6) rounded out the scoring in 69th place.

The boys Bees, also without most of its top runners, finished seventh out of 21 teams with 213 points.

Antonio Martinez led the Bees, finishing 30th in 18:29.1. Greg Lefancheck was 44th, in 18:58.9, while Brennan LaQue was 48th in 19:09 flat. Jeremiah Johnson was 54th (19:09.2), ahead of Mike Boyce (59th), Drew Molinet (63rd) and Wes Blasi (65th).

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment