Marcellus, Westhill runners win OHSL Liberty titles

Curry, Black sweep top two girls spots

— Just in time for the Onondaga High School League Liberty division championships on Wednesday afternoon, traditional late-October weather - rain, gloomy skies, wind, raw temperatures - settled into the Sean Goggin Memorial Sports Complex in Cazenovia.

Not that this bothered the favorites one bit, as Westhill/Bishop Ludden, on the girls side, and Marcellus, on the boys side, backed up their regular-season titles with wins in this meet, too.

In the girls meet, Westhill/Ludden, paced again by seniors Jessica Curry and Betsy Black, earned 45 points as host Cazenovia took second with 75 points. Marcellus was in fourth, with 79 points, with Jordan-Elbridge seventh as it got 169 points.

Curry covered the three-mile course in 18 minutes, 40.2 seconds, nearly half a minute ahead of Black, who was second in 19:05.2. Marcellus sophomore Rachel Garn was third in 19:06.4.

Emily Washburn gave Westhill/Ludden more of a cushion as she finished fifth in 19:42.1. Erin Morrell was 12th, in 20:26.5, with Erin Christensen crossing the line in 29th place (22:04.5), just ahead of Caroline Coates (22:18.0) in 32nd place.

For Marcellus, Mary Morocco got into 13th place in 20:33.1, while Molly McGuane was 17th in 20:54.8. Eliza Bell worked her way to 24th place (21:30.6) as Dominique Weeks was 30th in 22:09.1. Tori Stopen was 39th in 23:06.3.

J-E saw Phebe Alley lead the charge, finishing 25th in 21:39 flat, while Alexis Malvaso (22:21.5) was 34th, ahead of Rachel Scott (23:18.7) and Kerry Mack (23:29.5) within the top 50. Also, Solvay's Ashlee Riggins finished 38th in 22:44.1.

Moving to the boys OHSL Liberty race, Marcellus, no. 3 in the state Class B rankings, held off Hannibal, 33 points to the Warriors' 52. J-E, with 92 points, was third, while Solvay (105 points) edged Westhill/Ludden (106 points) for fourth place.

Individually, the Mustangs' Ryan Manahan could not keep up with CBA's Brendan Smith, the junior settling for second place in 16:28.4 as Smith blazed to victory in 16:04.7.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment