Syracuse, North Syracuse districts named as needing improvement

— Two Onondaga County school districts and schools in eight districts have been recommended for improvement by the state department of education.

Read the list of schools that need improvement here. Scroll to page 54 for Onondaga County.

Read the list of districts that need improvement here.

A total of 1,325 schools and 123 districts were identified by the state as needing improvement. The recommendation comes under the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act — commonly referred to as the No Child Left Behind Act.

North Syracuse Central Schools was newly added to the list of districts. Syracuse City Schools is now in its ninth year on the list. Both fail to meet federal standards in English Language Arts.

The state added an "unprecedented" number of schools to the district list this year — 89. A total of 123 districts state-wide are needing improvement, state education officials said. In addition, 847 individual schools have been added to the list, bringing the total to 1,325 elementary, middle and high schools state-wide that need improvement.

The schools recommended for improvement in English Language Arts are:

  • East Syracuse-Minoa's Pine Grove Middle School
  • Liverpool's Chestnut Hill Elementary School and Soule Road Middle School
  • Marcellus's Driver Middle School: English Language Arts
  • North Syracuse's Gillette Road Middle School, Bear Road Elementary, North Syracuse Junior High School, Roxboro Road Middle School
  • Solvay Middle School
  • Tully Elementary School
  • West Genesee Middle School

Syracuse City Schools recommended for improvement include:

  • Bellevue Elementary
  • Clary Middle School
  • Corcoran High School
  • Danforth Middle School
  • Delaware Academy
  • Dr. King Elementary School
  • Dr. Weeks Elementary School
  • Edward Smith K-8 School
  • Elmwood Elementary School
  • Fowler High School
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Frazer K-8 School
  • Grant Middle School
  • Henninger High School
  • Hughes Elementary School
  • Huntington K-8 School
  • Hurlbut W. Smith K-8 School
  • LeMoyne Elementary School
  • Lincoln Middle School
  • Meachem Elementary School
  • Nottingham High School
  • Porter Elementary School
  • Roberts K-8 School
  • Salem Hyde Elementary School
  • Seymour Dual Language Academy
  • Van Duyn Elementary School
  • Westside Academy at Blodgett
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment