Seven Eagle reporters recognized by Syracuse Press Club

Eagle Newspapers was well represented at the Syracuse Press Club's 33rd Annual Scholarship and Professional Recognition Awards dinner, held Saturday May 7 at Drumlins Country Club in Syracuse, with seven individuals taking home first and second place honors in the non-daily category.

The ceremony featured speeches from retired Post-Standard restaurant reviewer Yolanda Wright, who received the Gus Bliven-Joe Ganley Mario Rossi Career Achievement Award, and Matt Mulcahy, managing editor, anchor and reporter for WSTM-TV and WSTQ-TV, who received the Career Achievement Award.

WSYR radio's Jim Reith and former Newschannel 9 anchor, reporter and host of Bridge Street hosted the event.

The following Eagle Newspapers reporters were honored Saturday:

Phil Blackwell, Sports Editor - First place, Sports Story for "Lakers Survive VVS in Two-OT Football Classic"

Ami Olson, The Eagle - First place, Front Page Design

Doug Campbell, Cazenovia Republican - Second place, Front Page Design

Ned Campbell, Eagle Observer - Second place, News Feature Series for "A Kid in a Candy Store"; "Chocolate Cheer"

Ellen Leahy, City Eagle - First place, Human Interest Feature for "The Lady's Man"

Russ Tarby, The Eagle - Second place, Human Interest Feature for "Hurricane Jessimae"

Ken Jackson, Urban CNY - First place, Column for "It's a Small World: Violence in Our Community"; Second place, Blog for "Ken's Blog: The Hall Monitor"

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment