Baldwinsville Scholarship Foundation thanks you

On Behalf of the Board of Directors of the Baldwinsville Community Scholarship Foundation (BCSF), I would like to thank the Baldwinsville community for its support of our recent Dollars for Scholars Phone-A-Thon.

Money raised from this event will be directed into $1,000 scholarships awarded to deserving college bound seniors during the district's annual Moving Up Day ceremony on Friday May 27. The Foundation, which awarded one $300 scholarship in 1974, handed out nearly 100 scholarships in 2010.

We wish to acknowledge the more than 90 students who participated in the Phon-A-thon as well as the many volunteers who helped in countless ways. A special "thank you" to Verizon Wireless who provided cell phones for the two evenings, Mike Lee, owner of Dominoes Pizza of North Syracuse for providing pizza for both evenings, and Immediate Mailing Services, Inc. who provided postage and the Baldwinsville Department of Public Works for hanging our banners on the four corners. In addition, we would like to thank Dana Rubadou who worked tirelessly organizing all of the refreshments for both nights of the Phon-A-Thon.

The following teachers and volunteers gave their time to make both evenings a great success: Doreen Reinhardt, Renee and Jillian Teich, Ellen and Evan Beidermann, Mary Porceng, Leslie Dubiel, Linda Moehringer, Marty Pond, Steve Rubadou, Amy Monnat, Karel James, Tim Morgan, Mike Scuderi, Tom Sikora and Suzanne Powers. We would also like to thank the more than two dozen families who provided baked goods and beverages for our student volunteers.

If you were not contacted by one of our student volunteers during the Phone-A-thon, and would like to make a tax-deductible donation, please make your checks payable to BCSF, and mail to P.O. Box 88, Baldwinsville, NY 13027 or through our on-line giving at bvillescholars.org.

We are continually grateful for the support of the Baldwinsville Community and its belief in the value of higher education. This is clearly demonstrated through the current donations totaling $40,000. Our students are indeed fortunate to live in such a caring community.

Jennifer Saraceni Leitgeb is the president of the Baldwinsville Community Scholarship Foudation.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment