Friends of Lorenzo to celebrate year's accomplishments

President Chris Jenner and the trustees of The Friends of Lorenzo will be hosting the 36th annual meeting of The Friends of Lorenzo on Thursday March 24 at the Lincklaen House in Cazenovia. Incorporated in 1975, The Friends of Lorenzo has served as an all-volunteer organization dedicated to the ongoing preservation of Lorenzo State Historic Site.

Acquired by New York State in 1968, Lorenzo is one of 35 statewide historic facilities operated by the Office of Parks Recreation and Historic Preservation.

In celebration of the year's accomplishments, the public is invited to attend the annual meeting of the Friends at 7 p.m. March 24, in the Lincklaen House's "Stone's Throw" at 79 Albany St., a reception will be held immediately following the annual meeting. As space is limited, please RSVP by March 21 by calling Lorenzo at 655-3200.

Through membership support and a variety of fundraising activities, the Friends have been instrumental in making many initiatives possible for Lorenzo. Projects undertaken or supported by the Friends over the years have included: ongoing support for Christmas at Lorenzo, the Rippleton Schoolhouse Community Day, the May Preservation Series, and Living History programs.

Members involved were also instrumental in the renovation and maintenance of the formal garden, relocation and restoration of the c. 1814 Rippleton Schoolhouse, custom reproduction of textiles, wallpapers and carpets, replacement of historic specimen trees, production of an orientation video by WCNY, conservation and acquisition of fine art, publication of a full-color guidebook, as well as academic internships.

Upcoming programs supported by The Friends and Lorenzo include an architectural walking tour on Saturday May 14, a public forum on historic preservation and the NYS Office of Parks Recreation and Historic Preservation on May 19, a faux-paint workshop with Golden Artist Colors on May 21 and a Gala Garden Party on June 16.

The current Friends of Lorenzo Board of Trustees include: President Chris Jenner, Vice President Casey Frazee, Treasurer Carolyn Benzing, Liz Aronson, Lisa Brownback, Maria Budami, Leanne Burrell, Beth Carroll, Ainslie Ellis, Gene Gissin, Stef Hunt, Hanni Kmetzl Mary Beth Kuhn, Lisa Lounsbury, Wally McDonald, Jane Mistur, Suzanne Phillips, Lisa Sasser, Bob and Dianna Slodowitz as well as Sarah Webster.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment