Baker honors students during recognition week

Every year, the faculty, staff and administration of Baker High School take time each morning for one week to recognize students for their achievements and service to the school and/or the community.

This school year recognition week was held May 24 to 26. The following students were recognized:

    Outstanding work in math league and participation in the state math league meet: Shane O'Neil, Nate James, Dan Bulger and Ethan Pacheck;

Founder and president of Baker High School's Investment Club - Kyle Mulligan;

Outstanding volunteer service with Elden Elementary "Science Rules Session" - Lauren Micale and Danielle Cicero;

Commitment to peer tutoring in Regents chemistry - Patrick Brown;

German-American Society of CNY Scholarship - Alex Malecki;

State of New York Office of the Attorney General Triple "C" Award - Alexander Nagy and Nicholle Gerde;

State of New York Office of the State Comptroller Award - Laura Farleman;

General Managers, WBXL - Alex Nagy and Heather Heins;

Calvin College Dean's Scholarship and Heart and Mind Scholarship - Mallory Warner;

Full scholarship to SUNY Maritime, on behalf of Global Terminal and Container Services, LLC - Alex Malecki;

Xerox Innovation & Information Technology Award - Nathan Porceng;

University of Rochester Fredrick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award - Nicole Peinkofer;

University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Award - Nicole Felty;

Wellesley College Book Award - Katherine Mangicaro;

Le Moyne College Heights Award - Margaret Monnat;

St. Lawrence University Book Award - Jessica Futrell;

Cornell University Book Award - Emily Payne;

Rensselaer Medal Award - Nate James;

2011 Sage Student Recognition Award - Jolene Lathrop and Christina Pompo;

The Elmira College Key - James Eustice and Johanna Sulesky;

Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award, University of Rochester - James Reid;

Saint Michael's College Book Award - Alexis Eckert and Joseph Tanguay;

Clarkson University's Leadership and Achievement Award - Elizabeth Giromini;

Founder of Baker High School's new student newspaper - Hannah Onderdonk;

Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Friend-to-Friend Program - Nick Delia; and

RIT Computing Medal Award - Bryce Lockwood.

Contribution to the Baker High School library program:

    Ariana Ambrose

Joshua Buckman

Thomas Conkey

Katrina Crump

Jesse Fenlon

Harley Goings

Maria Grammer

Emily Hand

Jayni Johnston

Catrina Ribblitt

Kara Robichaud

Nicholas Romeo

Lindsay Rossillo

Justine Silbermann

David Vanslyke

Student Council Officers:

    Amanda Ingersoll, president

Dan Knight, vice president

Brittney Hewitt, treasurer

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment