B'ville PD earns prestigious safety awards

The Baldwinsville Police Department was presented with the Platinum Award from the Automobile Association of America (AAA) during the Jan. 11 Onondaga County Traffic Safety Advisory Board's annual awards ceremony.

This is the third year in a row and the fourth year out of the past five that the department has received the highest award that AAA presents. The department was noted for their efforts in seatbelt enforcement and the low rate of pedestrian accidents and injuries in Baldwinsville.

In addition, Police Chief Michael Lefancheck received the prestigious John H. Mulroy Traffic Safety Award for his efforts in helping to keep motorists and pedestrians safe. The award was presented by Judge Martha Mulroy as it is named after her father, the former Onondaga County Executive.

Judge Mulroy noted that Chief Lefancheck's efforts in obtaining support from local media outlets in agreeing to air a number of Public Safety Announcements that dealt with the dangers of texting while driving was especially noteworthy.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment