Mottville Fire Dept. elects new chief

On the evening of Dec. 8, the Mottville Fire Company held its annual election of officers. Elected to the position of chief of fire was Geoffrey Pitman. Geoff was serving as the department’s deputy chief. He replaces Chief Tim Baker who is stepping down after seven years as the chief of fire.

Michael Baker was elected deputy chief and David Bales was elected assistant fire chief.

The line officers elected were Michael Pitman as fire captain, Michael Paddock and Donald Estes elected as lieutenants.

Mathew Keegan was elected fire police captain. John Sheldon will continue as the department’s safety officer.

Social officers elected were Michael Paddock as sresident, Dan Sheldon as vice president, Heidi Oney as secretary, Tim Atwater as assistant secretary, Ted Murdick as treasurer, Chris Soprano and Melanie Thorp as trustees and Ken Johnson as historian.

On Saturday, Dec. 10, the members were treated to the annual installation of officers banquet held at The Links at Sunset Ridge in Marcellus. A fine meal was provided by the staff followed by dessert and some awards.

This year’s recipient of the Presidents Award went to newly-elected Fire Chief Geoff Pitman.

Our top responder for 2011 was Dan Sheldon by responding to 211 out of 255 alarms. Dan was also honored as the 2011 Fire Fighter of the Year given by outgoing Chief Baker.

Chief Baker would like to thank the many guests that were present. A lot of very nice words were spoken and many nice gifts were given. The fire company presented Carolyn Baker, the chief’s wife, with a dozen long stem roses. Carolyn said they were beautiful and thanked the department for her recognition.

The new chief takes over on Jan. 5, 2012.

I would like to wish him and the other officers well. We are in very capable and professional hands.

Timothy Baker is the outgoing fire chief for the MVFC.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment