CNS sweeps to historic titles at Morse relays

Northstars prevail as Liverpool girls take third place

— The Northstars also were fourth in the 55-meter dash and triple jump and fifth in the 4x400 relay, where Liverpool was fourth in 4:30.30. The Warriors also got fourth in the sprint medley relay.

CNS would also beat J-D in the boys edition of the Jack Morse Relays, winning with 92 points, more than double the total of the Red Rams (40 points) as Liverpool, with 34 points, slid into fourth place.

Bryson Mayes (41 feet 9 ¾ inches) and Morgan Austen (40 feet 2 inches) went 1-2 in the triple jump, a combined 81 feet 11 ¾ inches as Liverpool’s Ryan Ronk took fourth place. Mike Hyde cleared 13 feet 6 inches in the pole vault, leading teammate Cameron Shaughnessy (12 feet 9 inches).

Though Avery Yarn was first in the long jump with 19 feet 8 ¼ inches, Liverpool still won as Steve Fiorello and Zach Harris went a combined 37 feet 9 ½ inches, leaving Yarn and Keenan Miller (36 feet 9 ¼ inches) in second. Also for CNS, Austin George and Joe Castaldo were second in the shot put with tosses adding up to 80 feet 6 ¼ inches as Joel Brousseau was third in the high jump.

On the oval, Mark Broughton won the 55-meter dash, edging J-D’s Amani Jackson and Sknaeateles’ Malik Merritt, all of them hitting the line in 6.82 seconds. Broughton and Shaughnessy took the team event over J-D, 13.89 seconds to 13.90.

Broughton, Miller, Orazio Crisalli and Frank Volino held off Corcoran, 1:37.07 to 1:37.34, to win the 4x200. Ken Ryan, Anthony Lupia, Kevin Cialfi and Shayne Mitchell won the distance medley in 11:22.59, leaving Liverpool (11:33.17) in fourth. Yarn, Shawn Webb, Nathan Hilt and Nick Mezatesta rose to second in the 4x400 in 3:39.90.

CNS got third in the 4x800 as Paul DeGennaro, Bryan Junod, Evan Russell and Matt Crough got a time of 9:17.58, with Liverpool again fourth in 9:24.03. Volino and Bryson Mayes were third in the 55 hurdles in 17.22 seconds

Liverpool prevailed in the 1,600 sprint medley, where Keewan Rondinello, Mike Schneider, Brandon Horton and Zavon Watkins finished in 3:44 flat, edging Baldwinsville (3:44.71) for that top spot.

Both the CNS and Liverpool sides return to SRC Arena next Wednesday for the John Arcaro Memorial.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment