F-M girls cross country wins sixth straight national championship

Hornets overcome adversity, claim Nike Nationals in Portland

Brislin found herself just behind senior Katie Sischo, who in her final high school cross country race got to 21st place in 18:26. Alana Pearl finished 34th, in 18:35, while Hanna Smith was 44th in 18:39, one second ahead of Jenna Farrell (18:40) in 45th. Annika Avery was 81st in 19:06.

F-M's boys cross country team also qualified for the Nike Nationals, but found itself back in 12th place with 304 points as New Jersey's Christian Brothers Academy held off Southlake Carroll (Texas), 90 points to 94, for the top spot.

Still, junior Nick Ryan made a spirited push for a national title, working his way to fifth place in a 199-runner field in 15 minutes, 31 seconds. Fustum Zeinasellaissie won the race in 15:03.

Matt Deyo was 33rd in a time of 15:54, followed by teammates Ben Thomas (16:36), Colin Fitzgibbons (16:53) and Connor Farrell (16:55) in the scoring column. Bryce Millar ran to a time of 17:05 and Mike Malone finished in 17:56.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment