Marcellus High School inducts NHS members

"Some people make it happen, some people watch it happen, and some people ask 'what happened'. I implore you to go out there and make it happen."

With these words Marcellus Senior High School Principal John Durkee welcomed students and families to the 2011 National Honor Society Induction ceremony held Sunday March 27 at the high school cafeteria. The ceremony was organized by faculty advisers Heidi Busa and Laura Kuhns along with senior class members of honor society.

National Honor Society president Nicholas Huss welcomed families and spoke to the honor society selection process. Huss was followed by seniors Melissa Lee, Tim Schneider, Sarah Glose and Emily Lobello, who highlighted the honor society's traits of scholarship, character, community service and leadership. Schneider defined character as "doing the right thing when no one is watching and upholding the Marcellus High School motto of 'integrity, tenacity, and community.'"

Sarah Glose reminded the new inductees of all the support they had received from parents, families and teachers along their successful educational journeys.

"Community service is recognizing the support you have had in your life and supporting those in the community that need your support," she said.

Of course, the highlight of the honor society induction program was the introduction of each National Honor Society 2011 inductee. A slide show provided the backdrop as one-by-one current society members shared the achievements and admirable character traits of their newly inducted peers.

A reception sponsored by the Marcellus Academic Club was held in the high school foyer following the induction ceremony. Here are this year's Marcellus Senior High School National Honor Society Inductees:

Bethanie Abbott

Sarah Ackley

Madeline Balman

John Bell

Grace Bolewski

Ryan Bonk

Leda Brittenham

Kathryn Busa

Gail Canne

Grace Carlic

Erin Driscoll

Sean Dunn

Joe Fallon

Danielle Felty

Nicole Fletcher

Sarah Francesconi

Angela Gonnella

David Gooden

Kyle Hastings

Olivia Higgins

Chad Johnson

Sarah Kelly

Adam Kinsella

Oliver Knox

Bryan Koes

Rachel Marra

Dan Martin

Rebecca Nolan

Kelsey Nowak

Katie O'Connell

Jessica Osborne

Austin Quinlan

Taylor Rescignano

Faith Seeley

Erica Smith

Colleen Stapleton

Matt Tice

Alanna Todd

Baillie Vensel

Karina Wagner

Kaitlyn Wilkinson

Phil Zdanowski

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment