Comprehensive Planning Committee's progress report

The Skaneateles Comprehensive Plan Committee is pleased to report on a series of recent activities designed to elicit community input into the comprehensive plan. The comprehensive plan is a document that provides a vision and set of recommendations for what we want our community to look like in the future. Our committee has been charged by the town and village boards to update the current document (http://tiny.cc/8uow5 ).

On Sept. 12 through 18, Skaneateles hosted a team of talented planning and architectural students from the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture. Through the course of the week, the team met with approximately 100 members of the community, including the town and village boards, school board, planning and zoning boards, local officials, groups representing business, agriculture, responsible policy advocates, and many individual residents. Based on this broad-based community input, they began to develop a series of proposals that ultimately may inform our updated plan. The committee and Notre Dame team will continue to work on the vision throughout the fall. We will hold additional public meetings later in the fall/winter, but welcome input at any time. Feel free to contact us at SkanCPC@googlegroups.com with your thoughts, concerns and ideas.

In addition to thanking the many community members who took the time to meet with the committee and the Notre Dame team, we are very grateful to Superintendent of Schools Philip D'Angelo Jr. and the

Skaneateles Board of Education for permitting us to take over the district office meeting rooms all week, and for providing a school bus to tour the town. We also thank the Sherwood Inn, Kabuki and Joe's Pasta Garage for providing much needed sustenance for the team who often was working well into the night. Finally, thanks to members of the committee who housed the Notre Dame team in their homes.

The Skaneateles Comprehensive Plan Committee

Dessa Bergen

Kathryn Carlson

Mike Card

Alan Dolmatch

Cathy Dove, Chair

Bob Eggleston

Jeff Harrop

Jessica Millman

Dave Vensel

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment