School district honors Board of Education

On Oct. 18, the Baldwinsville Central School District honored its 10 Board of Education members for their dedication with a presentation of gifts at the board's meeting.

The 10 community members who serve on the Board of Education are Victor Jenkins, president; Burrill Wells, vice president; Cynthia Cronin; Kenneth Dwyer; James Goulet; Colin Kahl; Mark Manning; Joan Reeves; Steven Schweitzer; and Elizabeth Ventura. Six students from McNamara Elementary presented each member with a gift at the beginning of the meeting.

At the meeting, the Board honored Leslie Nicoletti, who teaches art at McNamara Elementary. She has been named the 2010 New York State Art Teacher's Association Educator of the Year for Region Three.

Eleven students were also honored for their achievements. Students honored were:

Eric Tommarello, a senior at Baker High School, who was named a National Merit Scholarship Semifinalist;

Karam Anthony, Daniel Bulger, Matthew Calnan, David Felty, Matthew Keim, Benjamin Landwersiek, Shane O'Neil, Ryan Sparkes, and Rachel Taylor, seniors at Baker High School, who have been named Commended Students in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program; and

Antonio Fabrizi, a ninth-grader at Durgee Junior High School, who participated in the People to People World Forum, held in Washington, D.C., June 28 to July 3.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment