National merit semi-finalist and commended students named at WG

West Genesee High School senior Adrianna Lee was named a semi-finalist in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program. It was also announced that James Buttner, Dennis (DJ) Campbell, Brittany Gardynski, Daniel Hoffman, Kaitlyn Richards, and Jennifer Smacher, were named Commended Students. Alexandria Welych-Miller was selected as a National Hispanic Program Scholar.

These students are among 34,000 of over a million students who entered the Merit Program by earning high scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT) taken in October of their junior year. Scholarships awarded through National Merit Scholarship Corporation programs are regarded as a high academic honor.

Although National Merit underwrites some scholarships with its own funds, most are provided by more than 200 colleges and universities and 350 corporations, company foundations, and businesses.

The students and their parents will be recognized at the Board of Education meeting on Nov. 3, where they will receive letters of commendation from Board President Deborah Simon, Principal Barry Copeland, and Superintendent Christopher Brown.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment