Optimists honor WG teachers, students

Courtney Shoults and Aaron Jones at WGMS, Monica Andrews and John Buttner at CMS, and Elizabeth Byrne and Benjamin Seketa at the high school were honored by the Camillus Optimists with the David Kenna Optimist Youth Appreciation Award.

Stonehedge Elementary School fifth-grade teacher Kelli Barbuto, CMS mathematics teacher Kathleen Callahan and high school art teacher Gail Glagola received the 2010 Joseph A. Witowski Teacher of the Year Award.

Honorees and their families were guests of the Optimists on Nob. 9 at Gilfillan's West Hill Catering Club. School administrators introduced each honoree and described their unique contributions. Optimists Jim Crockett, Brian Normoyle, David Philippone and Karen Tifft coordinated the program.

Teachers were selected by their peers for being sensitive to the needs of their students; for creating an exciting and challenging classroom atmosphere; and for contributing to the quality of instruction at West Genesee.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment