ESM voters pass budget, elect BOE candidates

Voter turnout today was the highest it's been in years for the East Syracuse Minoa School District, school officials said. Voters tonight passed the $47,395,914 2010-11 budget as well as all accompanying propositions on the ballot:


Yes: 1275

No: 768

Voters passed the 2010-11 budget of $72,014,792, an increase of $2,259,255 or 3.24 percent over the current year, and also includes an average property tax rate increase of 1.25 percent. The tax rate will increase from $23.36 per $1,000 of assessed property value to $23.65. Overall, this is an annual increase of approximately $29.17 on a home assessed at $100,000, however, tax rates are not finalized until August.


School buses:

Yes: 1,298

No: 724

Voters approved to purchase three new buses at a cost of $325,000 -- replacing ones that will be an average age of 10 years old in 2011. The one 78-passenger and two 65-passenger conventional school buses would ensure vehicle safety and replace the oldest and most expensive buses to maintain/repair.

Ten-year Capital Reserve Fund

Yes: 1,252

No: 762

Voters approved to establish a 10-year Capital Reserve Fund in an amount not to exceed a total of $5,000,000 over a 10-year period to fund renovations, improvements and additions to district facilities.

East Syracuse Free Library:

Yes: 1,240

No: 779

Voters approved a request from the East Syracuse Free Library for a $150,000 increase in funding over last year.

Minoa Library:

Yes: 1,354

No: 662

Voters approved a request from the Minoa Library for a $5,000 increase in funding over last year.

School board elections:

Eight candidates ran for three seats on the ESM Board of Education. Voters elected Nadine Zesky, Leah Cushing and Deborah Kolod.

Nadine Zesky: 1,119

Leah Cushing: 922

Deborah Kolod: 899

Cheri Flynn: 830

Russell Richman: 472

Michael Farney: 409

Michael Farnsworth: 393

Patricia Puma: 330

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment