Music education excels in B'ville

District named one of the best communities for music education

The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) Foundation has announced the results of its 11th annual "Best Communities for Music Education" survey, which acknowledges schools and districts across the country for their commitment and support of music education. The Baldwinsville Central School District has been selected as a 2010 Best Communities for Music Education designee.

Districts receiving this honor scored in the 80th percentile or higher in the survey's grading process. Participants in the survey answered detailed questions including those regarding funding, graduation requirements, music class participation and support for the music program.

"This honor would not have been possible without the support and commitment of our talented teaching staff, administrators, the Board of Education, parents and the Baldwinsville Central School District community as a whole," said Superintendent Jeanne Dangle. "I would like to thank Mr. Joseph DeBarbieri, principal of Baker High School, for taking the time to prepare the application for this honor."

The district's music teachers are: Jennifer Bearup, Megan Brody, Jennifer Cambareri, Donna Cole, Cynthia Doback, Kristina DuBois, Rebecca Dusart, Matthew Ells, Terryann Gerber, Patricia Hollis, Christine Isbell, Colin Keating, Dana Lambert, Laurie Raschella, Barbara Schmid, Phillip Sterling, Steven Uhl, Jennifer Vacanti, Casey Vanderstouw, Timour Vernyi and Tammy Williams.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment