B'ville earns ENERGY STAR designation

Six schools in the Baldwinsville Central School District have earned the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ENERGY STAR designation for superior energy efficiency.

The ENERGY STAR distinguishes Durgee Junior High, Ray Middle, McNamara Elementary, Palmer Elementary, Reynolds Elementary and Van Buren Elementary schools as six of the top 25 percent of buildings in the nation in terms of energy efficiency. Buildings that earn the ENERGY STAR use an average of 40 percent less energy than typical buildings. The Baldwinsville Central School District Board of Education recognized the schools at its June 7 meeting, and the school principals received ENERGY STAR plaques to display in their buildings.

"The district is pleased to accept the EPA's ENERGY STAR in recognition of our energy efficiency efforts," said Superintendent Jeanne Dangle. "Through this achievement, we have demonstrated our commitment to environmental stewardship and lowering our energy costs."

Displaying the EPA ENERGY STAR plaques that the Baldwinsville Central School District received are (from left): Steven Rosenberger, superintendent of buildings and grounds; Jane Nadolski, McNamara Elementary School Principal; Steven Frey, Palmer Elementary School Principal; Ken Weston, head custodian, Palmer Elementary School; Bonnie Van Benschoten, Durgee Junior High School Principal; Geoffrey Morton, Ray Middle School Principal; Michael Oemcke, energy coordinator; Terry Bick, Van Buren Elementary School Principal and Olivia Cambs, Reynolds Elementary School Principal.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment