Wrestling Lakers shine at OHSL meet

Cazenovia's wrestling team found itself at the OHSL Liberty/Patriot division championships at Port Byron on Saturday, where it won the team title among Liberty entrants with six wrestlers in the finals and three titles -- and head coach Dale Petroff came home with league Coach of the Year honors.

Greg Petroff took the title at 96 pounds, needing just 1:20 to pin Hannibal's Greg Hadcock in the title round. He pinned Cato-Meridian's Seth Thompson in just 59 seconds during the semifinal round.

Noah Shephard won at 152 pounds when finals opponent Chad Gray (Skaneateles) forfeited, this after a dramatic semifinal where he held off Cato's Brandon Bosco 2-1.

And Dylan Perry held off Fabius-Pompey's Ben Young 2-0 to win at 145 pounds after barely needing 90 seconds to pin Jake Valentino (Skaneateles) to reach that point.

Elsewhere, Brad Nardella went to overtime in the 103- pound final, only to fall to Jordan-Elbridge's Mitch Alpha, and Ryan Cook (112 pounds) lost his title match to J-E's Mike Nguyen 8-2. A close 130-pound final saw Jake Wilson lose to F-P's Marcel LeChance 3-2.

Teddy Kugler, at 125 pounds, finished fourth, as did Cody Foster at 189 pounds. Dylan Holgate (160 pounds) beat Tully's Drew Steiger 4-2 for fifth place, and Dan Cossitt reached that same mark at 171 pounds by pinning Greg Taylor (Port Byron) in the second period.

After a non-league match with West Genesee on Wednesday, the Lakers will go to South Jefferson for Saturday's Section III Class B championship meet, which starts at 10 a.m.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment