Liverpool wrestlers get back-to-back wins

In the first of back-to-back meets, the Liverpool wrestlers handled the independent squad from CBA/Jamesville-DeWitt Tuesday night, winning by a score of 39-15.

The Warriors had four pins on the night, with Derek Eason (152 pounds) getting the fast fall of 1:35 over Paul D'Antonio, four seconds quicker than Mike Reed (215 pounds) in his pin over Mike Schneider.

Casey Guilfoil, at 119 pounds, took 2:21 to finish off Nick Farfaglia, just before Tyler Eason (125 pounds) pinned Dan Meile in the middle of the third period.

Nate Hathaway (112 pounds) and Justin Thompson (130 pounds) both claimed forfeits, while Dakota Inman, at 145 pounds, battled hard to beat Brad Delevan 8-6. Mende Cukalveski (160 pounds) and Brendan Capria (189 pounds) both lost decisions.

Then the Warriors met Oswego on Wednesday and won again, taking out the Buccaneers 44-24.

Tyler Kolbasook, at 135 pounds, gave Liverpool its quickest pin, finishing off Austin Gilbert in 90 seconds as Hathaway, up to 119, pinned Alec Smith early in the third period.

Guilfoil moved down to 112, beating Brian Pulver in a 17-2 technical fall, while Tyler Eason battled past Anthony Todaro 6-4. Inman, Jake Bottino (140 pounds), Derek Eason and Justin Rose (189 pounds) all claimed forfeits.

Meanwhlie, Cicero-North Syracuse lost a close 34-31 decision to Central Square. It was so tight that, had Kiel Dyer got one more takedown or reversal in his 135-pound match against Nick LaFlair (a 4-3 defeat), it might have gone to the Northstars.

Instead, the Red Hawks won, overcoming, among other things, three CNS pins. Patrick Dyer, at 130, used 1:03 to beat Chris Bourassa, while James Segars (145) finished off Avery Sigle in 3:13 and Todd Hagger (160) pinned Nick Guerin in 3:44.

Matt Mastro worked at 215 pounds, beating Tyler Winn 4-2, and Dan Ciciarelli (112) beat Ryan Lamson by that same score as Heather Kubacki (103) claimed a forfeit.

CNS is serving as the hosts of, but not participating in, this Saturday's Section III Dual Meet. South Jefferson is the top seed, while Fulton has the no. 2 seed and defending champion Phoenix has the no. 3 seed.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment