Scholastic Art Awards for B'ville teen artists

Thousands of creative junior and senior high students in this region submitted their best art work and hundreds received honors for their award winning entries in the 2010 Central New York Scholastic Art Awards program, sponsored by M & T Bank.

Over 4,500 works of art were judged in 15 categories for entry in national competition and to receive local cash prizes and/or special recognition.

Following the recent Awards Ceremony, a 1,000 piece exhibit of winning art works was unveiled at Onondaga Community College. The exhibit is free and open to the public through Feb. 26 in the Whitney Applied Technology Center on OCC's campus. Select works will also be on display from March 6 to April 4 at the Everson Museum of Art in Syracuse.

Gold (first place), silver (second place) and honorable mention awards were given for eight-piece senior portfolios of fine art and photography, as well as individual categories that include painting, sculpture, film and animation, textiles and more.

The following Baldwinsville students were recognized in the competition:

CW Baker High School

Gold Key, Fine Arts Portfolio: Anthony Newkirk, Morgan O'Donnell-Curry.

Honorable Mention, Fine Arts Portfolio: Matthew Zarzecki.

Gold Key, Photography Portfolio: Victoria Connor.

Honorable Mention, Photography Portfolio: Carrie Hack, Kelly Novak.

Gold Key: Christine Clifton, photography; Lydia Darling, film and animation; Anthony Newkirk, sculpture; Elizabeth Sawyer, photography.

Silver Key: Michael Alexander, photography; Allie Catalino, photography; Victoria Connor, fashion; Anthony Newkirk, sculpture; Alexa Vecchio, photography.

Honorable Mention: Dustin Beauchene, Christine Clifton, Melinda Davis, Carrie Hack (two pieces), Ayden Karn-Waite, Frankie Libbon, Erica Miller (three pieces), Anthony Newkirk, Kelly Novak, Morgan O'Donnell-Curry (two pieces), Rebecca Roach, Brianna Stewart, Lana Vecchiarelli, Alexa Vecchio, Sharon Wolff, Matthew Zarzecki.

Durgee Junior High School

Gold Key: Rachel Beneway, film and animation.

Silver Key: Molly Makowiec, drawing; Nicholas Welch, film and animation.

Honorable Mention: Nicholas Welch.

Ray Middle School

Gold Key: Rachel Dibble, mixed media.

Silver Key: Rachel Dibble, sculpture.

Honorable Mention: Caitlin Barron.

Many pieces will be submitted for this spring's national competition. Last year, the 13-county CNY Region produced nine national award winners. For more information, visit cnyscholasticart.com.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment