Marcellus boys soccer coach honored

Accolades continue to pour in for the Section III Champion Marcellus Varsity Boys Soccer Team and Coach of the Year Jennifer Griffin.

The team was honored in February and March on the floor of the New York State Senate and Assembly in a resolution sponsored by Sen. John DeFrancisco and Assemblyman Will Barclay.

The team captured the Section III Class B title and marched their way through the state playoffs to the Class B state finals held on Nov. 22, 2009 at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta. The Mustangs (19-2-1) lost a heartbreaker to Section XI's Center Moriches by a score of 1-0 in the extremely hard-fought state championship match.

Congratulations and best of luck go out to the 14 seniors that anchored this Section III championship squad: Greg Ramsden, Jon Quick, Zach Finkle, James Kinney, Jose Rodriquez-Doran, Mark Schmidt, Keith White, Ben Bednarski, Tom Quinlan, Jon Schoonmaker, Zach Garrison, Mike Tao, Tom Glose, and Joe Garrant.

Griffin was selected as the Section III All Central New York Coach of the Year for her efforts in guiding this exceptional group of student athletes.

The team also received recognition as a "New York State Scholar Athlete Team."

Sen. DeFrancisco along with Assemblyman Will Barclay visited Marcellus Senior High School on April 15, 2010 to individually present each player and Griffin with copies of the resolution.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment