B'ville: Board honors athletes, coaches and art students

The Baldwinsville Central School District Board of Education honored several individuals at its March 29 meeting.

Ken Brown, coach of the varsity wrestling team, was honored for being named the CNYCL National Division Coach of the Year. The board also honored the boys' varsity wrestling team, which finished its season as the Section III, Class A Champions on Feb. 13 at the Utica Auditorium. The team also received the Division I Team Sportsmanship Award. Members of the team are:

    Jabr Bengabr

Nicholas Bouvia

Anthony Camardella

Lucian Earle

Anthony Finocchiaro (Anthony participated in the State Wrestling Championships on February 26 and 27 at the Pepsi Arena in Albany, making it to the quarterfinals.)

Jacob Florack

John Hierholzer

Brian Honsinger

Nicholas Jacobs

James Lang

Chad McArdell

Kurt McArdell

Patrick Nasoni

Jacob Norton

Kevin Paul

Antonio Peck

Joseph Senf

Joseph Shaheen

Timothy Sposato

Agostino Zona

The Board honored two members of the boys' indoor track team for qualifying for the state championship meet held March 6 at Cornell University, Ithaca. They are Rudy Sapp, who competed in the 55-meter dash and finished 22nd in the preliminary round; and Brian Kane, who competed in the high jump placing second in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Championships. Kane was also the third place winner in the New York State Federations, received the Section III Boys' Sportsmanship Award and broke the school record in the high jump -- new record: 6'6"

Mark Lloyd, coach of the boys' varsity ice hockey team, was honored for being named the CNYCL Division I Coach of the Year.

The board also honored two Elden Elementary students who had their artwork selected to be part of the 20th Statewide NYSATA/New York State Legislative Student Art Exhibit at the Legislative Office Building in Albany in February. They are Rose Mercer, second grade, and Lauren Lammers, third grade.

Rudy Sapp, left, shakes hands with Board of Education President Victor Jenkins.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment