J-D, ESM cross country stay unbeaten

As they head toward a Sept. 30 showdown, the Jamesville-DeWitt and East Syracuse-Minoa cross country teams remain undefeated.

Both swept OHSL Freedom division meets Wednesday afternoon, as the Red Rams knocked off Homer and the Spartans fought past Fulton.

J-D's boys team rolled through Homer 16-46 as its top runner, Bumkoth Jiak, broke the 16-minute mark on the Red Rams' home course, posting a time of 15 minutes, 58 seconds.

Dan Driscoll took second place, in 16:26, inches ahead of teammate Dan Frank. Eamon Kissane (16:53) finished off a Red Rams sweep of the top four spots, with Jacob Gorke sixth and Jack Healy seventh, each in 17:36. Tyler Petersen took ninth place in 17:55.

Though the girls meet was a bit closer, J-D still handled Homer 18-43, with Eileen Cody holding off Ameena Dye at the wire, 20:03 to 20:04.

Rebecca Bergman ran to fourth place, in 21:24, while Katie Pinkes finished fifth (21:43) and Avery Share grabbed sixth place in 22:13. In yet another J-D pack, Amber Blom was eighth (22:31), with Rebecca Doss (22:43) and Shelby Weinstein (23:36) also in the top 10.

ESM engaged in a pair of close meets at Fulton, but still won both sides of it, prevailing 25-32 in the girls meet and beating the Red Raiders 28-30 on the boys side.

Meghan Visser covered the Fulton course in 20 minute, 33 seconds, beating the Red Raiders' Brittany Lamie by more than a minute.

Alyssa Passett was third (22:42) and Megan Crandall fifth (23:09), but the Spartans didn't clinch the meet until Elizabeth VanDeusen finished seventh (23:45) and Mallory Martino earned eighth place in 23:47. Nicole Verrone (24:16) and Marissa Kite (24:23) also cracked the top 10.

Fulton earned three of the top four spots in the boys meet, as Craig Andrianos broke up that trend, finishing second in 17:48 behind the Red Raiders' Noah Carroll (17:15).

But ESM atoned with its depth, starting with Dylan Courbat, who was fifth in 18:13. Paul Schneible was sixth (18:30), with Andrew Troast seventh (18:38) and Louis Ferrone clinching the victory with his eighth-place time of 18:41. Kevin Rogers (19:20) finished ninth.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment